Sherlock Holmes, Everlasting Detective in My Heart

Sherlock Holmes Statue in Edinburgh

I think everybody know this famous and legendary detective from Baker Street 221B. Sherlock Holmes is a fictional detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Sherlock is famous for his astute logical reasoning, his ability to adopt almost any disguise, and his use of forensic science skills to solve difficult cases. In his active detective career, he was accompanied by Dr Watson for 17 years. The background setting is very classic which is 1887 until 1927 in England. People there still used horse-drawn carriage.

Illustration of Sherlock Holmes and his bestfriend, Watson

I really love Sherlock Holmes story because the story is very classic. The way Conan Doyle write down the story make my imagination go futher and get deep down so that I can’t stop reading until the end of story. Even I read all of his stories again and again. Beside that, Sherlock does have an unique and eccentric characterictis which rare to find. I love how he acts arbitrarily. He is a man with no regard for contemporary standards of tidiness or good order. He also uses addictive drugs to help him stimulate his brain when it is not in use.

One famous quote from Holmes is “When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth”. This is the prove that the way he is thinking is very sistematically and logically.
I collect all of his story. Actually the original Sherlock Holmes stories consist of fifty-six short stories and four novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Here is the list.

My Precious Collection of Sherlock

1. A Study in Scarlet (published in 1887)
2. The Sign of the Four (published in 1890)
3. The Hound of the Baskervilles (serialised in 1901–1902)
4. The Valley of Fear (serialised in 1914–1915)

Short story collections
The short stories, originally published in periodicals, were later gathered into five anthologies:
1. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (contains stories published 1891–1892)
2. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (contains stories published 1892–1893)
3. The Return of Sherlock Holmes (contains stories published 1903–1904)
4. His Last Bow: Some Later Reminiscences of Sherlock Holmes (contains stories published 1908–1917)
5. The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (contains stories published 1921–1927)

Right now is 2014, so even it had been 127 years from the first published novel of Sherlock. Sherlock is still well-known. Even there is modern film version of Sherlock who use handphone and internet. All of the version is great. Its satisfy my hunger to watch Sherlock action. One of the classis story I won’t forget is when the case is the killer kill many prostitute women abruptly and randomly. Even to reveal the case and how the killer kill the victim, Sherlock and Watson have to re-open the victim grave and find a stocking in her throat. It turns out, the stocking were stuffed forcely to the victim throat by the killer. What a sadist way to kill people. Thanks God, Sherlock reveal the truth so the killer is arrested.

Sherlock stories is one of stories that fill my adolescent time. And I really feel grateful to be able to read all the stories. No doubt, Sherlock stories are a master piece! Thank you Sherlock!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s